The sky and the lake

originally created: 02/02/2023
last updated: 15/10/2023

***

WARNING

This album has surpassed the acceptable amount of pictures for easy navigation in this website (112 photos!😲), so it is officially being archived. There won't be any more pictures posted here, and all that relates to the category (Sky stuff) will be in a new album: Sky stuff II. The same will be done with any albums that surpass 100 photos, moved to the One-shot section at The Trove's main page. Dropbox folders will remain the same, though, if you use that. Changes will take effect in the next update to the category.

***

There's nothing easier to photograph than the sky. It is so vast and so common to us that when something different is happening, often evoking beauty, it becomes very easy to point at and understand it as a thing of beauty. This "something different" can also be what is had routinely, noticed by chance and surely, because it's hard to avoid just looking at the sky once in a while and being reminded that nature is just too cool. Taking pictures of big clouds, or bright moons, or twinkling stars when there isn't much light around, doesn't really do much to accentuate your skill. Beauty will be there no matter what you do, or how you do it, and it is very cheap photography when you think about it.

That being said, guess who doesn't care? That's right! Me! And that's why I love to take pictures of sky stuff, and that's what you're going to find right here, let's go!


The moon shines up in the city sky

big black sky with nice moon up there

Bright moon

This moon was pretty popular at the time. Don't know a single person that didn't take a picture of it that night. Blood moon in the early afternoon, bright full in the late evening. Very cool, love the light distortions on this set.

moon I moon II moon III moon IV moon V moon VI moon VII moon VIII moon IX moon X moon XI moon XII
moon XIII moon XIV moon XV

Pink skies

It was pinker when I first saw it, then I ran to grab the camera, decided to take a five to brush my teeth, and when I was ready to take the pictures it just wasn't that pink anymore and I was very sad.

pink clouds I pink clouds II pink clouds III pink clouds IV pink clouds V pink clouds VI pink clouds VII

An evening cloud

cloud in evening sky

very cool


Bus ride clouds

clouds from inside the bus I clouds from inside the bus II clouds from inside the bus III clouds from inside the bus IV clouds from inside the bus V clouds from inside the bus VI

An assortment of clouds and a kite

super cool clouds you're not seeing I super cool clouds you're not seeing II kite I kite II super cool clouds you're not seeing III super cool clouds you're not seeing IV
super cool clouds you're not seeing VII

blue

blue

Tiny plane

so small

the plan I the plan II

Early evening scene

late I late II

Early bird

bird I bird II

love this one


SEASON TWO

The widnow

window

Bright moon II

za moon I za moon II

The evening out here

From blue to orange, to purple, day and night carry the same beauty here.

evening I evening II evening III evening IV evening V

Evening walk

walking towards the sunset until night falls

walk I walk II walk III walk IV walk V

Unfortunate best view of the sky

triangle

Chilling on the window

pondering on my next act of mischief

chill

Smoke and ashes

ashes I ashes II

The vultures

it's trash day

flyingabout

SEASON THREE

"it's going to rain tomorrow"

Sara said

rain

Blue II

blue 2

The sky and the city

city I city II city III city IV city V

would be unfair to leave these out

lake I lake II

Tiny plane II

plane I plane II

Angel's trail

trail I trail II

Evening in the pasture

pasture

Venus & Luna (and the summery evening)

shoutouts whore of babylon

them I them II them III them IV them V them VI them VII

Extra pictures from this set can be found in the Drive folder at the bottom of the page.


Doom clouds

One day my grandma told me that, when the sky turned red, her mama said it was a sign of the end of times.
As time passed and the sky became red the more often, she realized that maybe the end ain't nigh; maybe she was already living in the end.
When she died, I reaized something very important: Her mother also lived in the end, and so her mother's mother, and that mother's mother, and now, it was on me to live my share of the end, as well.
For something as big as time, the end may last more than a lifetime. For something as big as the sky, we're nothing but insignificant movement. Life is ruled over by forces too great for our feeble powers to affect. It is impossible not to live selfishly.

doom I doom II doom III

Used in "leaving in a dream"

doom IV doom V

Idyllic genesis of the evening

idyll I idyll II

Used in "leaving in a dream"


Cloudy night

cloudy I cloudy II cloudy III

UPDATE STARTS HERE

2023's Blue Moon

To continue the tradition of posting a thousand different pictures that look almost exactly the same, here are some from this year's Blue Moon.

blumoon I blumoon II blumoon III blumoon IV blumoon V blumoon VI

[edited]

blumoon VII

[edited]

blumoon VIII blumoon IX blumoon X blumoon XI blumoon XII

Extra pictures from this set can be found in the Drive folder at the bottom of the page.


A new multimedia project of mine has just been released!
Check out Annie Bonny's Risible Lives right now in Wattpad (click the image):



CLICK HERE TO GO TO THE SKY AND THE LAKE II

You can use these pictures, I probably won't oppose, but let me know through the e-mail on the About section if you do.

Dropbox folder | Drive folder
Imgur albums I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII
«The Trove | Home