Emptiness

originally created: 29/01/2023
last updated: 27/03/2023

WARNING

This album has surpassed the acceptable amount of pictures for easy navigation in this website (125 photos!😲), so it is officially being archived. There won't be any more pictures posted here, and all that relates to the category (emptiness) will be in a new album: Emptiness II. The same will be done with any albums that surpass 100 photos, moved to the One-shot section at The Trove's main page. The dropbox folder will remain the same, though, if you use that. Changes will take effect on the next update to the category.

***

Emptiness. Solitude, abandonment, inspired longing in empty space — isolated individual in time, intracorporeal experience of self-enlightenment. Not mindfulness, but the ability to smell the stench of the self, feel the texture of sorrow, and sorrow not as disadvantage, but advantageous gift of the divine, such as the soothing smell of flowers or the greenish peace of mellow fields; dark in reality, dark and cold in the after-hours, when the city sleeps. Emptiness. Of street, of person, a thousand people snore around you, the ground is infested by foot prints. Not loneliness, but the experience of what comes after. Ruling over memories, over ghosts.

One day I'll write a book on the idea of emptiness, as in the journey of an individual in an empty world, but to be clear, not about the journey, about the stinging feeling of being the only one. A poetry collection maybe? A No Weeping In the Outhouse of sorts? I feel so connected to this "school of feeling" that I could write a bible of books on the lows of living, and maybe I really will, who knows?, what's important at the moment is what I got to show right now: emptiness in pictures.

When the hanging out is over and my friends are fast asleep on their beds and I'm too drunk and too dopeless to blink an eye, this is what I see, emptiness, everywhere and all around me. No one's in the streets besides me, vehicles appear rare and far between, and all the street-lights blink yellow, even on (before) busy avenues. It's the city telling me that I should not be there, and since I am, there's no responsibility to what destiny could bestow upon me. I could remove all my clothes and roll naked on the street and nobody would ever know; I could run until the burning in my lungs and legs became unbearable, screaming threats to all human kind, and nobody would really care to bat an eye; if a masked robber shot me in the back of the head, it would be hours until someone noticed I wasn't just a hobo. This nudity makes reality so potentially risky, but in truth so incredibly lonely; it's safer than it seems, even if you're singing your songs and stomping your rock boots. This safety made me a lurker.

When I'm spinning my stiletto, sat at an empty park watching the stray dogs sleep, I truly am a ruler to that world; a meritless, vain tyrant of worthless ruling, leading no subjects. In a world of solitude you are the everything, and for that reason you're absolutely nothing. The hierarchy of the self, an empty roundtable, the void consumes you and all that's certain is the livid absolute of power. Tyranny. Emptiness. The puzzle of the human. Now, pictures, lots of them:


Exploring a rainy afternoon...

...I noticed there wasn't much life around. Snapped a picture, screamed, people appeared.

rainy afternoon scene

A street sign within radius of the skate park

dirty street sign I dirty street sign II dirty street sign III

A hollow sidewalk

sidewalk but it's a hole

Uncanny architecture of emptiness

Of course, at night some buildings may look "empty" and "uncanny" and "lifeless", and that's perfectly normal because they really are supposed to be like that. But some other buildings are just built different, and that feeling becomes more prominent within the same context. Looking at them makes you feel uncomfortable, there's just something wrong about it, and these are a handful of pictures of buildings like that.

weird building I

The architecture of this one is way too simple, the houses look way too basic, and from a certain angle it feels like they just stretch out forever. I was way too drunk when snapping this one so it's not the best example, but still.

weird building II

A decade old unfinished building that spawns portals to other dimensions.

a portal

Lonely orangishness

because street lights

grandma's chair that one U-slope a cluster of wires the tree
the suburb I the suburb II the suburb III

An abandoned downtown

Where activity reigns in day and dies at night.

empty downtown scenarios I empty downtown scenarios II empty downtown scenarios III:sad uno empty downtown scenarios IV

A not-so abandoned downtown

When young souls lurk about

not so empty downtown scenarios I not so empty downtown scenarios II not so empty downtown scenarios III

Sidewalk bread

It's unholy how many pictures I took of this bread when I found it, but these are the two best ones anyway. It also appears in Eat, sing, fuck and die. bread bread 2


The Car Store

happy family I happy family II volkswagen happy family III happy family IV

they're everywhere :(

balloons

Junk fridges

lined up junk fridges

Don't ask, I also don't know.


The Tap Store

100% white people shit

taps people baby

Lifeless people

After I took this first picture, a whole new part of my mind was given light to and now I love mannequins. They're always so photogenic, like artificial perfect-models, and exploring this is what I did here. And there's a philosophy to be made, with the uncanniness of "people" devoid of any humanity, but eh, it looks cool, that's what truly matters. mannequin picture I mannequin picture II mannequin picture III mannequin picture IV mannequin picture V mannequin picture VI


This set is dedicated to a faithful reader and feedbacker, thanks for enjoying, the great Fish-o-mancer!

mannequin picture VII mannequin picture VIII mannequin picture IX mannequin picture X mannequin picture XI mannequin picture XII mannequin picture XIII mannequin picture XIV mannequin picture XV mannequin picture XVI mannequin picture XVII mannequin picture XVIII mannequin picture XIX mannequin picture XX mannequin picture XXI mannequin picture XXII
mannequin picture XXIII mannequin picture XXIV mannequin picture XXV mannequin picture XXVI

People

Definitely one of my favorite spots. So full of people, full of life, so many different characters to observe and explore, experiences to write about. But when the cars are all at the garage, and there's no reason for anyone to be there anymore, this is what you see: emptiness and ghosts.

bus station I bus station II bus station III

Convenience stores

convenience store I convenience store II convenience store III convenience store IV convenience store V convenience store VI

A mile to be walked

The start of many urban journeys.

street I street II street III street IV
street V street VI

gangbang

broken stuff I broken stuff II broken stuff III

The other "stores"

closed places I closed places II

The outer town

dark place I dark place I (edited)

This one's brightness was slightly altered for clarity, you can find more about edits here.


Busted cars and not-busted cars

cars I cars II cars III cars IV cars V cars VI

Designer house-store

places that look like houses will always look like houses

design I design II design III design IV

Truck parts

I also don't know

truck I truck II truck III truck IV

Hidden building

hide I hide II

The warehouse

wares I wares II

Tires

tired I tired II tired III tired IV

Midnight saviors

In those moments and places when your hand is in the back pocket, ready to pull the blade and cut throat of any evil lurking about in the shadows, lit up windows and porch lights become surprisingly soothing. They're safe zones, where you cannot be harmed; molochian lights as ethereal wings to protect a mere mortal — midnight savior.

light I light II light III

The piracy department

pyrate I pyrate II pyrate III pyrate IV

Loosies

literally nothing

This was supposed to be in "Study on reflections", but doesn't matter how much I tried, I could never capture the reflection I wanted. In the end, it's still a pretty cool view of the empty space next to the shitty disco place (one day I'll take the proper picture).

gas station I gas station II gas station III

YAY! GAS STATIONS!

she-wolf

This is where I met She-Wolf.

the street café

A not-so reflective picture of "The street café" from Study of reflections.

suicide doorway

suicide doorway

entrada do forró

o forró

bando

waking up in a bando

bench

a bench the skaters broke

pau brasil

pau-brasil haha get it?

cube

we ain't get it, ain't real CUBE


From tomorrow (5th of Mars) all the way to the 13th, Smashwords will be having a pretty big event called the "Read an e-book week". It's a big sale with big discounts on most e-books sold there, and one of those will be "Bloody Christmas — It sucks sometimes". The price will be cut in half and, if the full price is what was stopping you from trying it out before, now you can get it for much cheaper!

It's a nice little book that you can read more about here, and you can even grab a free sample at Smashwords if you want! If you enjoy the massive amounts of content I pump into my blogs, this is a great way of showing supporrt and receiving a super cool book in return. You'll be seeing more of me plugging this event in the upcoming days, so yep, check it out, it's pretty cool.


CLICK HERE TO GO TO EMPTINESS II

You can use these pictures, I probably won't oppose, but let me know through the e-mail on the About section if you do.

Dropbox folder | Imgur albums I, II, III
«The Trove | Home