rain

originally created: 10/01/23
last updated: 29/10/23
Update: The broken pictures were all fixed.

First of all, big thanks to Marina for helping me set up this great new feature of the naughty tree root blog. Also, thanks to my mans Mozart for the reliable feedback, and for choosing today's theme: rain.


Living in a country where snow is nothing but a far away dream, rain ends up being the next best thing. And I love rain, so much so that the weather forecast is the only reason why I got a TV, and it's the reason why I'm always looking out the windows, the balcony, to the sky up above and its magnificent clouds floating about, mashing and transforming and growing and evolving; until they collapse, coating the land, making everything wet in a showery, relucent, dazzling display of nature's true powers. Sometimes there's even a rainbow or two, maybe three if I'm lucky. And everytime it rains, I'm quick to go outside, — though everybody else is quick to go inside, — and feel the rain; run around, jump in puddles, catch a cold, decide I won't be taking a shower that day. When the droplets hit my heavy clothes, or my naked skin, or my soon-to-be wet hair, it's like a bazillion high fives all over, from a friend I'm sure will always come back to visit. And it's in the moment right after, when I'm alone in a desert street, completely soaked, that I feel that feeling, that strange feeling like bread dough left to grow inside my guts, that's quickly associated with true happiness.

Rain is great, rain is a perfect scenario, rain is the solution to many of my problems, I love rain. But, when it rains, whipping out the camera is never the first thing that comes to mind, and when I feel that I need to take a picture, the camera is hardly able to capture what I want it to capture. Photographing "rain moments" proved itself to be a great challenge since I started actively taking pictures, but I've managed sometimes to make it actually work, and here you will find the result of this hustle.

Also, I once wrote a short little tale about boredom and depression and the healing powers of rain, and to which my good friend duck drew a fanart. I like that drawing a lot, check it out.

Now, let's get on with it!


This one was taken when I sat down to rest, shaking like crazy because of how freezing cold it was. I also made a video. I like the way the water drips.

water dripping

"It was March rain, a cold rain, rain that had been cooled by winter but not yet warmed by summer. It wasn’t refreshing or invigorating, like some rains can be. There was something terrifying about it. The clouds acted as cover for malevolent angels shooting machine guns out of the sky. The raindrops had cores of ice. You wouldn’t want one to hit you in the eye. It would plow right through to your brain and kill you. That’s the kind of rain it was. Homicidal."
— Supervert, Necrophilia Variations, "Fragment of a Love Letter", p.129.
That's how the rain was that night, when I waited for the bus, missed it, walked around for a bit and sat down to wait once again, watching the rain.

illuminated rain drops illuminated rain drops II

After a long "let's walk around and drink or something" on a rainy night, I noticed the pictures were getting blurry and we stopped so I could do a health check on the camera. The following photos show the unblurrying that was done, and it looks really nice. These pictures were going into the "Light" category, but I decided to just put them here.

unblurriness I unblurriness II unblurriness III unblurriness IV

SEASON THREE

A refreshing shower day at the garden

showeer showeer showeer showeer

You can use these pictures for non-commercial purposes, I probably won't oppose, but give proper credits and let me know through the e-mail on the About section if you do.

Dropbox folder | Drive folder
PostIMG albums I
«The Trove | Home