Conquistense Poetry 08: The magic of Hildegardes Veloso Part 02

This is part 2/3 of this book's translation. The first one can be found here.




O homem (The man)

"Desce o sol poente...
E os pássaros galantes
impávidos se agasalham
nestas árvores tão doentes.
São as usinas de força
é o homem em ação
é a chuva ácida que cai
matando o verde, a esperança da nação.
É o fogo que queima
é o machado que corta
é a vida desarrumada
toda torta.
Antevejo o azul do céu
e o ar puro se esvai
só me resta respirar fumaça
e ficar como um bêbado
no cai e não cai.
Ó DEUS! Faça o homem entender
que a devastação não é uma
meta, que é simplesmente
uma flecha trespassada,
no coração do poeta..."


"The setting sun goes down...
And the gallant birds
fearlessly huddle up
in these sick trees.
It's the power plants,
it's the man in action,
it's the acid rain that falls,
killing the green,
the hope of this nation.
It's the fire that burns,
it's the axe that cuts,
it's life all messed up,
all crooked.
I foresee the blue of the sky,
and the pure air disipates;
all that's left is to breathe the smoke,
and stroll wobbly, like a drunk on the verge of falling.
Oh, GOD! Make 'em understand,
that devastation is not a goal,
but simply an arrow pierced
into the heart of the poet..."




O choro das árvores (When trees cry)

"As árvores choram escusas
para os homens
não ousarem poluir
as tuas lágrimas..."

"The trees weep excuses,
so that men
dare not pollute
their tears..."




Além das árvores (Beyond the trees)

"Passei. Por tantas crianças sorrindo,
por tantas crianças chorando.
Passei. Por tantas crianças brincando,
por tantas crianças com fome.
Passei. Por tantas árvores doentes,
por tantas árvores tombadas,
por tantos homens escrunchantes, com tantas
lágrimas nos olhos, passei,
fui além...
Amar-te além das árvores..."


"I've passed — by so many children smiling,
by so many children crying.
I've passed — by so many children playing,
by so many children starving.
I've passed — by so many sick trees,
by so many felled trees;
by so many disgraced men, with so many
tears in their eyes. I've passed (by),
went beyond...
To love you beyond the trees..."




Entre as nuvens (Among the clouds)

"Sentir-se como um pássaro
voando a mais alta colina
ou até mesmo vê-lo desaparecer entre as nuvens.
É quando tudo desaparece
e só você permanece
dentro de mim.
Sou uma espécie de pássaro
que voa bem alto
desaparece entre as nuvens
e te ama demais..."


"To feel like a bird
flying above the highest hill,
or even see it disappear among the clouds.
Up there, that's when everything disappears
and you, only you stay,
inside of me.
I'm a type of bird
that flies really high,
disappear among the clouds,
and loves you too much..."




Criação (Creation)

"Com a poesia, do nada faço o tudo,
do tudo faço o nada, do nada faço
você, de você faço meu mundo, dos
teus lábios minha flor, do teu
corpo meu mel.
Sou um arquiteto distinto
crio você para amar...

Eu entendo
o meu canto, como o
canto dos pássaros..."


"With poetry, from nothing I make everything,
from everything I make nothing, from nothing I make
you, and I make you my world; from
your lips my flower, from your
body my nectar.
I'm a distinct architect,
I've made you to love...

I understand my song as that of a bird..."




Assim quero viver (This is how I want to live)

"Eu quero viver eternamente
assim, ouvindo o doce som
da tua voz, beijar-te
até cansar, ao som romântico
desta música que soa...
E nunca se acaba.
Quero entregar-me totalmente
nessa calmaria, sentirmos
uma vez donos do mundo,
prefiro assim.
Quero bronzear-me
em ti repousar, e,
como um pássaro lindo
chegar a sonhar
no teu corpo de sol.
Em qualquer estação
quero sentir a sensação
de teu corpo
assim quero viver..."


"I want to eternally live
like this, listening to the sweet sound
of your voice, kissing you
until I get tired, to the romantic sound
of this song that plays...
and never ceases to.
I want to give myself up
to this peacefulness, and feel
like the king of the world.
I prefer it that way.
I want to get a tan,
rest in you, and,
like a beautiful bird,
dream in your body of sun.
In any season
I want to feel the sensation
of your body against mine.
This is how I want to live."

(t/n Doesn't matter how much I read and reread this poem, I can't make total sense of the original. It's not too well-written, and the message simply isn't clear at all. The feeling has translated well, but the words' faithfulness to the original is faulty at best.)




Você era o pôr-do-sol (A Aninha) — (You were the sunset [Annie])

"Na pesquisa de um terceiro
mundo você surgiu...
surgira esplêndida
como o desabrochar
de lírios nos verdes vales,
'inda gotejando o orvalho gélido da manhã.
Por acaso quando descia
o sol no ocaso, eu feliz te encontrei.
Você era o pôr-do-sol
qual sorriso como as
flores perfumadas do arrebol
e qual olhar, como os raios
brandos e outonais do luar..."


"In researching a third world you appeared... splendid,
like the blooming
of lillies in green meadows,
still dripping of the icy, morning dew.
By chance, when the sun descended in the sunset,
I happily found you:
You were the sunset;
smile as the fragrant flowers of the afterglow,
gaze as the soft, autumnal rays of moonlight..."




NINHA (ANNIE)*

"enquanto você
pesquisava sobre
um terceiro mundo
eu já havia descoberto
um mundo dócil e
maravilhoso
que é... Você..."


"while you were researching
a third world,
I had already discovered
a sweet and wonderful world
that is... You..."


*Notice the importance given by the capital letters here. Also, this and the previous poem were in the same page, as part of the same story, though the style and format are clearly very different and there isn't, necessarily, an order to them. The indecision of which to put in the book and, then, the resolution of using both and having one not complete, but dispute with the other was risibly amateurish, but in the end, such a nice experience on true teen romance.

next | home | prev