Conquistense Poetry 06: Young people poetry

This time I brought once again a zine-book from the good ole times of Vitória da Conquista's 80s, when it was one of the Big Cities, where the youth would go to be discovered for their artistic prowess.

Amongst the mountains of not-so-good works from self-publications at the time, Hildegardes Veloso kind of revealed himself as the messiah with some amazing poetry, and despite the quality of his verses not showing plentiful in today's topic, "Sonhos Fantasiados de Brisa (1987)", I found it important to at least save this little bit of history with a small selection. Also, this one was written collectively alongside another writer, Adailton Amaral, whose magnum opus figures in the amazing "Gaivota (Seagull)", you'll find at the end.


Hildegardes Veloso

Sonhos fantasiados de brisa (Dreaming high*)

"Com simplicidade afável nos olhos lá vou,
gemendo, gritando nesta terra, com
simplicidade de versos a barcar.
Poetando com guerra.
Lá vou, todo escrupuloso pra não
deixar escuso os meus talentos
simples e gigantes, que me despertaram
ao despontar o sol tímido no horizonte.
Lá vou, com passos lentos, pés descalços
e sem camisa inspirando nesse mundo
encantado, onde eternizo nos meus sonhos fantasiados de brisa.
Lá vou, saltando como carneiro esta me——
vou, mostrar-te realmente que sou, o teu humilde poeta.
Sonhos e mais sonhos, pés descalços
e sem camisa, lá vou poetando simplesmente
os meus versos, e meus sonhos fantasiados de brisa."


"With amiable simplicity in my eyes, there I go,
moaning, screaming on this Earth, with
Simplicity of verses, boating the waters.
Poeting** with war.
Here I go, all scrupulous not to let my talents go unnoticed:
Talents simple and giant, that awakened me
as the sun rose shy on the horizon.
Here I go, slowly, barefoot
and shirtless, inspiring in this enchanted world,
where I'm immortalized in my high dreams.
There I go, skiping like a lamb this me——*** I go,
to show you that I really am, your humble poet.
Dreams upon dreams, barefoot and shirtless,
here I go simply poeting
my verses, and my high dreams."

*This title is surprisingly hard to translate. In the original, the idea is that the verses represent the author(s) dreams, which do not need high (drug usage) to be fantastical. In translation, I opted for the double entendre of "Dreaming high", as in both "dreaming while high" and "dreaming great things". Both represent a critique to the youth's way (at the time) in finding in drugs the answer to a wonderless life.
**In the original, "poetando", this is an informal way of saying someone is "living off poetry": making poetry, reading poetry, living poetry.
***The zine press was in need of some ink when this copy was made, and the whole book had 2-3 letters missing on the sides of every page. This here is an example of a word I simply could not make a reasonable guess on. But if you have a guess, make sure to e-mail it to me through the address in the About section.




Adailton Amaral

Objeto companheira (Object companion)

"Você que foi minha companheira nas horas de inspirações.
Você que sempre quando falha,
Faz-me substituí-la por outra.
Você que dura pouco, mas deixa marcas de um belo significado.
Você que não perde um segundo quando estou escrevendo, sempre ao meu lado
É uma pena minha companheira!
Você me ajuda a escrever, eu ganho a fama.
A poesia tem minha autoria, no livro tem o meu nome, nem eu nem os leitores se lembram de você.
Você que é minha companheira nas horas de inspirações, isolada diante dos meus trabalhos poéticos.
É uma pena minha companheira!
Não posso agradecê-la
Pois se fosse fazê-lo jamais escutaria
Você sempre me ajudou a escrever.
Só hoje pude retribuir-lhe,
Com esse ato de agradecimentos.
Escrevendo essa poesia em sua homenagem:
Você, minha inesquecível bic esferográfica.
Minha inesquecível caneta."


"You, who was my companion in times of inspiration.
You who always, when you fail,
Makes me replace you with another.
You, who do not last long, but leave permanent marks of beautiful significance.
You, who doesn't waste a second when I'm writing, always by my side.
It's a pity, my sweet companion!
You help me write, I get all the fame.
The poem has my signature, the book, my autograph;
not I, nor my readers, remember you.
You, who made me company in times of inspiration, is oblivious in my poetic works.
It's a pity, my sweet companion!
I cannot thank you,
Because even if I did, you would never hear it.
You have always helped me in my writing.
Only now I will repay you,
With this act of gratitude.
Writing this poem in hommage to you:
You, my unforgettable Bic ballpoint*.
My unforgettable pen."

*The Bic ballpoint is an inexpensive, popular pen over in Brazil.




Gaivota (Seagull)

"Gaivota é uma ave
Que voa no meu pensamento
Que brinca no mar
Do meu sentimento
E pousa numa árvore
De nome coração.
É a paz que precisamos
É o mundo que não encontramos
É amor sem contradição.
É realidade em forma de verso
É a saudade que voa no universo.
É companheira do poeta
Na hora da solidão.
É um dos símbolos da paz
Sua cor uma mensagem nos traz
É a personagem
Dessa pura inspiração.
É uma amiga sincera
Que ficará na lembrança
É amor, pudor e esperança.
Gaivota!...
É uma menina bonita
Que habita no meu coração."


"Seagull is a bird
That flies in my thoughts,
That plays in the sea
Of my feelings,
And perches on a tree
Called Heart.
It is the peace we need,
It is the world we can't find,
It is love without contradiction.
It is reality in verses,
It is longing* flying around in the universe.
It is the poet's partner
In times of solitude.
It is a symbol of peace,
Its color brings us a message.
It is the character
Of this pure inspiration;
A sincere friend
That will remain in memory.
It is love, modesty, and hope.
Seagull!...
It is a pretty girl
That lives in my heart."

*Here "saudade" strikes once more.

next | home | prev